Columbia University Medical Center




Michael N. Shadlen, MD, PhD, Neuroscience, received the 2017 Karl Spencer Lashley Award from the American Philosophical Society in recognition of his pioneering experimental and theoretical studies of decision-making, identifying neural mechanisms that accumulate and convert sensory information toward behavioral choices.

Vince Ferrera, PhD awarded NIMH R01
Focused ultrasound for noninvasive brain stimulation


Bianca Jones Marlin, PhD received the 2016 Donald B. Lindsley Prize in Behavioral Neuroscience

Thomas Jessell, PhD awarded the 2016 Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience from the Society for Neuroscience

Mickey Goldberg, MD awarded NEI P30
Core Facilities for Vision Research

Carol Mason, PhD awarded NEI T32
Vision Sciences Training Grant to support graduate students and postdocs engaged in vision research

Franck Polleux, PhD awarded NINDS R01
Cellular and mollecular mechanisms underlying the function of SRGAP2 during synaptic development

John Cunningham, PhD and Mark Churchland, PhD awarded NINDS R01
Understanding flexible neural computations in the motor cortex

Randy Bruno, PhD awarded NINDS R01
The behavioral functions of upper and lower cortical layers

Nate Sawtell, PhD awarded NIDCD R01
Mechanisms for cancelling self-generated sounds in the mouse dorsal cochlear nucleus 

Faculty promotions:
Rui Costa, PhD appointed Professor of Neuroscience
Vince Ferrera, PhD promoted to Professor of Neuroscience (in Psychiatry)
Attila Losonczy, MD/PhD promoted to Associate Professor of Neuroscience
Nate Sawtell, PhD promoted to Associate Professor of Neuroscience

Vince Ferrera, PhD awarded NARSAD Independent Investigator grant
Sonogenetics: precise, non-invasive neuromodulation using sound

Nate Sawtell, PhD awarded NINDS R01
Mechanisms for internal models in a cerebellum-like circuit 

Randy Bruno, PhD awarded NINDS R01
The role of dendrites in thalamocortical circuitry

Seok Mingoo, PhD and Stefano Fusi, PhD awarded Research Initiatives in Science & Engineering (RISE) Competition grant
Designing a New Generation of Low-Power Neuromorphic Memory for Pervasive Sensing Devices with Online Learning Ability

Nate Sawtell, PhD awarded Irma T. Hirschl Career Scientist Award
Neural Mechanisms for Predicting the Sensory Consequences of Behavior


Rudy Behnia, PhD awarded Provost's Junior Faculty Award
Modulation of Circuits Elements for Motion Detection by Locomotion

Aniruddha Das, PhD awarded National Eye Institute R01
Endogenous Neural Activity: Neurophysiology, Optical Imaging, fMRI, and Behavior

Franck Polleux, PhD awarded 2015 Prix Roger de Spoelberch
Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying the development, maintenance and evolution of cortical connectivity

Neuroscience faculty members elected as fellows to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Michael Shadlen, MD, PhD
Steven Siegelbaum, PhD

Eric Kandel, MD awarded the Leo Baeck Medal